Tree Meditation

It always amazes me how I sometimes forget to breathe. 

Yikes! How can my body function without breathing!

But when I am in the forest, I notice my breathing is deeper, my breaths are fuller.  It helps to connect trees with the breath so every time I look at a tree, I inhale and exhale deeply. 

This is now my mindfulness practice:  See a tree. Any tree.  Anywhere.  Anytime. Breathe.

And there are alot of trees around here…so that’s alot of relaxing breaths.

These lyrics from the song “Tree Meditation”  by environmental educator and musician Joe Reilly is super sweet.  It has been my meditation this morning, and the lyrics are a simple reminder of the interconnectedness of trees and humans.

“Breathe in it’s the out-breath from the trees
Breathe out exhale and the trees will breathe
Realize all rivers flow to the sea
We inter-are with the trees, when we breathe they breathe.

Breathe in, breathe out.
Breathe in, breathe out.”

Breathing with trees makes me smile.

To the Forest!

Leave a comment

Filed under tree

Leave a Reply

